I made meatballs! I used BBC’s as a base (see bottom for the link). I bought panko (Japanese bread crumbs) long ago to wanna try to make them but it was sitting in my cabinet for the longest time.

2017-04-27 11.33.49
panko bought from a Japanese mart

I don’t exactly use a measuring cup nor a kitchen scale; I go a lot by guesstimate now and I remember to taste my food as I go along now! The bad thing about this my food sometimes still end up being overly salty. Oops. So much for healthy living.

No particular reason on the proportion of beef to lamb, just so happen I had half a packet of minced beef left. I use a lot of frozen meat, well, I just need to thaw when I need to use them. The thing is I usually can’t finish that one packet. I think a good use would be to do meal-preps with them!

I also usually mass-crush my garlic all at once for easy cooking using a garlic crusher. Garlic is good for Chinese stir-frys and fried rice so I use it all the time when I cook. Just realized this helps to keep my hands from being garlic-smell free for weeks too but I have to deal with garlic-smell hands for a few days.

 

2017-04-27 12.49.34
refrigerated meatballs

 

Ingredients:

  1. Minced Beef (125 g)
  2. Minced Lamb (150 g)
  3. 1 onion
  4. 1 tsp crushed garlic
  5. 1 egg
  6. 4 tbsp of panko (could be more)
  7. 1 tsp sea salt
  8. 1/2 tsp black pepper
  9. 1 tsp turmeric powder

Steps:

  1. Mix all the ingredients together evenly. I used my hands.
  2. Take some of the mixture and roll it into a ball.
  3. Refrigerate them for an hour or so before using them.

 

2017-04-27 15.37.27
browned meatballs

I used a toaster oven to brown them before cooking them. I kept half of this in the freezer for future weekday meals. Getting quite sick of buying take-outs. Hope this meal preps work!

Meatballs were a bit crumbly when I didn’t brown them and just pan-fried them. So I guess baking them really helps!

Recipes I referred to:

http://www.bbc.co.uk/food/recipes/meatballswithtomatos_74759

http://www.thekitchn.com/how-to-make-meatballs-cooking-lessons-from-the-kitchn-108048

http://www.thekitchn.com/recipe-spiced-lamb-meatballs-142317

http://allrecipes.com/recipe/40399/the-best-meatballs/

Leave a Reply

